Something I Find Sexy – Christie Brinkley : Swim Harder

Christie Brinkley Swimsuit

Christie Brinkley Swimsuit

She emerges from the surf wet and breathless. She approaches me swaying her hips provocatively. Her body has the long lean lines of a predatory cat. Her movements are decidedly feline, graceful and effective. I cannot take my eyes from her. I wrap my arms around her waist as she wraps hers around my neck. Our lips meet. I find myself falling into her kiss as if falling down a well, or more like a tunnel.

 

It’s been years since we’ve been here and that tunnel through which I am kissing her transports us back. It’s as if we never left this beach those many years ago. Those lips of her haven’t changed. No, the only change is the renewed passion with which she uses them.

 

Her breasts press against my chest with a renewed vibrancy and I receive her with a fired up lust of my own. We were magic back then and by god the witch is back in her eye. I’m sure her charms are as effective as ever. My reaction to her is primal. I must have her, now. Like it was when we were then, passion ablaze, I want only to take her and ravish the rest of her body with these lips.

 

It’s been what, ten years now? Ten years since I received some very good advice. Larry came up to my desk one day while I was working and said to me “Swim harder”. There was a little bit more, but that is the nugget. The nugget of truth and good advice. Alas, its advice I did not put into practice.

 

Why? That is the question I return to now. It was so ‘on the mark’. He was tall, six three, lean and had thick white hair even though he was only in his forties. He was a programmer on the database side of the aisle. I was a programmer on the internet/intranet side of the aisle. We didn’t interact on a daily basis, our projects pretty much ran independently. But he was a man of insight, of that much I’m sure.

 

It was good advice then, and its good advice now. I have heard that it’s never too late to learn a new lesson. Old dogs, new trick, that old axiom rings in my ear. Although I do not often look at the past to dwell on regrets, I am at times reflective. There seems to be something about this time of year, not new year’s, that brings about my reflective self.

 

New year’s is a time of looking forward. I’m an optimist by nature. At least that’s what I tell myself. But by creating such a mantra for myself, am I burying my head in the sands of denial? I look around at where I am and I don’t often see much progress. But that’s the problem with my ethereal, intangible goals.

 

Yes, that’s where I think the problem lies. My goals need to be focused. They need to be more defined. I’ve read about ‘SMART‘ goals. Goals that are: specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely.

 

Goals need to be specific. There has to be a definition for them. Think of the six ‘W’ questions; who, what, when, where, why, and which. Answer as many of these as possible for each of your goals. “Get fit” is not a specific goal. “Loose twenty pounds in two months by watching my diet and exercising three days a week” is a specific goal.

 

Goals need to be measurable. Your goal needs a success criteria. How do you know when it’s been obtained? It needs measurable benchmarks or milestones. “Lose twenty pounds in two months” is a good goal. It can be measured. Setting smaller goals of two and a half pounds per week makes that goal even more measurable.

 

Goals need to be attainable. When you set a goal, you need to ask yourself if this is something that you are actually able to do.

 

Similarly, goals need to be realistic. You can set high goals for yourself, but be honest about both your abilities, and your willingness to pursue a certain goal.

 

Goals should also be timely. When developing your goals, don’t let them run on indefinitely. Bound them. Set time parameters. There’s nothing like a deadline for attuning the mind to its task. I think there is a quote about that floating around the internet. So it must be true.

2 thoughts on “Something I Find Sexy – Christie Brinkley : Swim Harder

Leave a Reply

