Poem Alert – Sonnet – Julia Series

This poem is in the Elizabethan format. The form consists of fourteen lines structured as three quatrains and a couplet. The usual rhyme scheme is end-rhymed a-b-a-b, c-d-c-d, e-f-e-f, g-g.

________________________________________________________________________

Julia Series

Julia Series

The bourbon adds color to her cheeks

She tries to impress me taking it neat

She’s been catching my eye for weeks

So I had to sweep her off those little feet

 

I’ve invited her to this quiet little nook

It is said that experience will trump youth

This intimate setting is the bait on the hook

Unlike boys she knows, I’m not uncouth

 

It is nice having the nymph here at night

She lounges languidly, a comfortable cat

Her slim contour lines are a sweet sexy sight

And she feels quite at home in this habitat

 

 

When I see her sleeping in the soft dawn’s light

I’m warmed with a thought today will be bright

Leave a Reply

