Wednesday Serial – Miss McCaffrey pt 8

teacher01

Miss McCaffrey – a short story about a boy and his after school lessons…c’mon we all know where THIS is going. Now we are there.

________________________________________

With the afternoon’s lesson well finished, and the sun streaming through the light drapes, I was so taken with how radiant Miss McCaffrey looked. Her porcelain skin glows, and she has this sly yet contented smile. As she is looking up at me with her large, sleepy eyes I realize that

‘I don’t want school to end next week,” I said to her, seeing myself reflected in those doe eyes of hers. “No, I don’t want it to ever end ever again. No! No more summers. This is it… ”

Lying in her bed feeling her warm body next to mine, I wanted time itself to stop. But, I’m just a boy and time marches on.  Miss McCaffrey gave me a kiss as she got up and out of the bed. Stretching in the summer sunlight she looked like an angel. I was smitten.

“That is a wonderful thought, for now at least, but tempus fugit,” she said bending over to kiss me.

“That might be, but I don’t have to like it, I just don’t want to lose you.” She was my first. You never want your first to end. As I watched her leave the bedroom. I stretched out and enjoyed the comfort of the cool sheets.

I lay there and reflected on that for a while. My English teacher was my first, but it occurred to me that I was not her first. That she already had a first, and probably a second. All I could think about was not seeing her in class anymore. These past couple of weeks had been wonderful. I was so busy trying to figure out what crazy scheme I could use to keep seeing her that I hadn’t noticed her return from the shower. She came in wearing a short, silk robe and sat at her vanity.

“I’m thinking that I could help you out here, doing chores and such,” I suggested to Miss McCaffrey.

“Dear, sweet, Jeremy, you are going to be too busy for chores,” she said with that ‘teacher’ look of hers, “I’m compiling your summer reading list.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

